Board of Commissioners

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

All Commissioners Serve Part-Time

22 East Broad Street 
Newnan, Georgia 30263 
PHONE: (770) 254-2601 
FAX: (770) 254-2606 


 poole 100

 lassetter 100

 blackburn 100

 brooks 100

 smith 150

 Paul Poole  Tim Lassetter  Bob Blackburn  Rodney Brooks  Al Smith

Employed by
Delta Airlines

Serving 4th term 

Employed by American
Presidents Line (APL)

Serving 3rd term

 Self Employed 

(Coweta Realty)

Serving 2nd term

 Self Employed
(Brooks Construction)

Serving 3rd term


Self Employed
(2001 Art Studio)

Serving 3rd term
(770) 301-6250
(770) 253-4259
(404) 630-4351
(404) 557-5942  
(404) 409-7557
Vice Chairman
District 1
District 2    District 3   District 4   2018
District 5


 Form Of Government

Coweta County is governed by a five-member, elected Board of Commissioners representing different geographic portions of the county (See map of districts). The Board of Commissioners establishes ordinances and policies for County operation. The Board also acts on certain citizen requests such as zoning matters. The day-to-day governmental operations are handled by the County Administrator's Office.  As elected officials of the county, the five members of the Coweta County Board of Commissioners are ultimately responsible for county operations and activities.

  • Chairmanship
    The Coweta County Commission Chairmanship rotates among the elected commissioners.  Coweta County is the only county in the state that operates with this type of rotating chairmanship.
  • Open Meetings & Open Records
    The Coweta County Commission meets twice a month in regular session and once a month, as needed for public hearings (2018 MEETING SCHEDULE

The meetings are held at 37 Perry Street, Newnan, GA 30263 (Entrance "D"). 

Rules for meetings are here

Agendas and minutes of Commission meetings are maintained on the website IQM2.  Official minutes are maintained by the county clerk at the Coweta County Administration office.  Official requests for information or open records requests should go through the county clerk or to the deputy county clerk.

  • Administration
    Administrator Michael Fouts and his staff maintain a working knowledge of all departments and programs under the jurisdiction of the Board of Commissioners. The Administrative staff is the liaison between the Board of Commissioners and county departments, as well as the general public.  Operational decisions are channeled through this office for handling by the Board of Commissioners and once approved, are dispersed from the Administrator's Office for action.

dist map1 

Boards & Authorities - Appointed by the Board of Commissioners

The Board of Commissioners relies on the commitment and expertise of many volunteers and citizens to provide input and oversight to many governmental functions and roles. The Board appoints these
individuals to serve in specific roles generally for a set length of time. The appointments vary from a short term single issue committee to a long term appointment to an authority with legal and fiduciary
responsibility. Regardless of the length or complexity of the commitment, the willingness of Coweta citizens to give of their time and expertise is greatly appreciated.

Coweta County Annual Report

The annual 'Report To Our Citizens' contains important information about your county's operations and finances from the previous year.  The report is issued during the first 'quadmester' of each year.